• February 9, 2023

Djokovic, who won the Australian Open, will not participate in the ATP Tour in the US… The reason is?

This year’s Australian Open men’s singles champion Novak Djokovic (1st place, Serbia) will not participate in the men’s professional tennis (ATP) tour event held in the United States.

ESPN reported on the 9th (Korean time), “Djokovic, who suffered an injury at the Australian Open, will miss the BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells, USA in March.”

Djokovic, who failed to compete in the Australian Open last year due to not being vaccinated against a new coronavirus infection (Corona 19), returned to the Australian Open after two years this year and won the men’s singles championship.

With this victory, Djokovic, who lifted the trophy for the 22nd major championship in his career, stood tall with Rafael Nadal (6th, Spain) as the player with the most major championships. 메이저놀이터

However, Djokovic is not able to continue his winning spirit straight away and takes a break. This is because of an injury sustained at the Australian Open.

Djokovic played the Australian Open with a hamstring injury. There were suspicions of fake injuries, but after the tournament, Australian Open tournament director Craig Tyley made it official, saying, “Djokovic’s hamstring was torn by 3 cm.”

The unvaccinated state is also acting as a factor preventing Djokovic from participating in this tournament.

Unlike Australia, the United States is still restricting unvaccinated players from participating in competitions. The US is scheduled to end the Corona 19 emergency declaration in May, but the media explains that this tournament will be held before that, so even if Djokovic is not injured, it would have been difficult to participate in the tournament. Djokovic did not participate in this competition last year due to unvaccinated.

Meanwhile, Nadal will also miss the Paribas Open due to an injury sustained at the Australian Open. After sustaining her hip injury, Nadal is expected to take up to two months to make her comeback.

In the women’s division, defending champion Iga Sibiongtech (1st place, Poland) will compete, and Australian Open women’s singles winner Arina Savalenka (2nd place, Belarus) will participate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *